Thank you!

On June 16th, the Many Shades blog will be closed.
The authors thank you for your readership and hope you will come visit them at their personal sites via the links to the left.

Wednesday, April 1, 2009

Time To Write Again

I decided to take a break today from the sizzle workshop to close the door on one phase of my life. Soon, I will no longer be president of the online writing group EPIC and wanted to just reflect on that for a moment.

I have always believed that people need to give back to groups who have helped you along your chosen path and at the point I decided to run, I knew in many ways that I indeed had been made a better writer by my association with this group. Still, the year was hard as I only had two pieces published and there were many times I wondered if I should have done things the way I did.

There were some horrendous other things that happened within my family (youngest son diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes and elderly father should say it all) and even now I sit here writing feeling horrible because I’m ill and didn’t plan ahead for today. But as I watch what is happening in other parts of the world, I realize it is what it is. There are things in life people just can’t anticipate.

No matter how hard one plans, things almost never go like the plan. Not completely. But if you can follow your plan 90% of the time, you’ve done a good job. The world is full of procrastinators, people who only do half a job or no job, and then again there are those who let their dream languish because they don’t have direction. As writers, it is sometimes very hard to figure out just what your direction needs to be. Mine is to just write and become comfortable to do so every day again like I had been prior to holding office.

Even with all that is good and bad which has happened I know I am on the right path. I know that I am supposed to be a writer. Already this year I’ve had a small story published, Subtle Invasion, through Devine Destines. This was a story that I thought would never see the light of day. It was the first one I had ever completed and edited the heck out of so it would be better. I was surprised when I got the email it needed to be edited fast because it was being called to duty. Although the email’s timing was really bad, it brought up my spirits as again I had joined the realm of being published.

This does not mean I won’t be giving back to the writing communities that I belong to currently. Quite the opposite. I will participate where ever I can but the main difference is that I won’t be in charge. Being in charge brings its own headaches that I would rather like to avoid for a long, long time. However, I am proud of the time I was president of EPIC as there were things which were accomplished and one can always be happy about those.

And I’m also going to start speaking publically more on writing, ebooks and epublishing. My first gig will be on a panel of authors at a local conference called Xanadu. The other authors are people well known to this blog, Erin Sinclair and AP Miller, both who are wonderful authors and friends.

Now that I can step back from the political arena, I have plenty of time to write. Once I get over being ill…LOL! I plan to write a lot the rest of this year. I will be completing books on my Santa’s Elves series, finishing all my Tarot books, writing more on two other series and finishing another heavily sci-fi series called Protectors of the Earth. Yeah, it’s gonna be dark and cool in the vein of X-Men and Battlestar Galatica.

And I can’t wait to get started! Just think, this blog is the first new thing I’ve written this day and it will only get better.

What have you written today?


Jambrea said...

Good luck! I'm glad you're getting back to writing. :)

Erin Sinclair said...

Looking forward to it Lynn!


Lynn Crain said...

Thanks, Jambrea!


Lynn Crain said...

Me too, Erin!


Sponsored by the search engine optimization services internet guide.